An Interview with…Mr. Fiacco (Part Two)

Victoria Chiu, Editor

The second half of That One Conversation in Which We Really Do Talk About Donuts. And colours. And long walks on the beach. For part one of the interview, click here.

NOTE: Scroll to the bottom(ish) if you want to know a specific outline of what’s happening on Redesign Day.

VICTORIA CHIU: What’s the funniest story you have to tell that relates to your career?

MR. FIACCO: One of the funnier stories was when I was teaching science 10 in my first year here. I was teaching ionic bonding, and I thought I was doing a great job instructing until a student asked a question and said, “Mr. Fiacco, I don’t get this at all.” So I said it was no problem and that I’d explain it to her one-on-one. After I finished explaining it one more time, she looked at me and said, “Mr. Fiacco, all I really heard was ‘blah blah blah, blahblahblahah blah blah blah.'” And I just broke down laughing; that was pretty hilarious. That was one of my more memorable moments. There’s a lot, but that one pops into my mind all the time.

If you could have any other job besides those related to schools and education, what would it be?

Hmmm…y’know what would be cool? Just to go into, if you could do anything you wanted to do and assuming you’d be successful at it…I’d want to be a musician. That’s the best. You could grab your guitar and go anywhere. Just recording music and performing and selling records, traveling…or just performing. There’s all types of musical careers.

Did you have any childhood pets?

Pets? Nope. But wait, hold on—what qualifies as a “pet”?

Anything that you name, for our purposes. Besides rocks.

Anything that I name…then yes, we did have pets. My mom and dad are from Italy; grew up in the country and on the farm. So when they got here, when I was growing up we always had random farm animals in the backyard. Mainly, we had rabbits. We had chickens, we had pheasants…chickens. Did I say chickens?

Ah…yes. Yes, I think you did.

Yeah. Pheasants, we had pigeons, but we had rabbits quite a bit. My brother and I would name them and play with them and get them to adulthood and get them fattened up and then…uh…next thing you know, we’d be eating them at suppertime. (Laughs) So I don’t really consider them to be pets. We had pets later on—dogs and the like. But not growing up, no.

What is your favourite colour?

Oh wow, that’s a tough one. Depends on my mood. I have a hard time shying away from brighter colours. Wait, do you mean colours to wear or colours to colour with? Or like a car, or something like that?

Uh…hmm. How ’bout we say colours just to look at.

Just to look at? I think oranges. I like a kind of rusty orange or, you know, something like that.

So, like, autumn-y colours?

Yeah! Yeah, that’s it. Good call. Autumn colours.

Well, you’re in luck ’cause it’s autumn! Okay—do you like long walks on the beach?

Yep.

Well, that was easy.

Water. I love water. Oceans, etc.

So do I. Next question: do you have any kids?

I have two children. My daughter is twenty-two and will graduate from university to become a teacher. My son, Michael, is in grade twelve and he’s over at Archbishop O’Leary.

How old are you?

I am twenty-nine.

Really? I would’ve guessed twenty-eight. And a half.

And a half, yes. I am forty-seven. Did you believe twenty-nine?

Of course.

There you go. Good job.

So this one is an actual question: what can you tell us about the Redesign Day plans for October 10?

What’s happening for Redesign Day is this…

  • The classes will be shortened to 12:15 PM.
  • From 12:15-1:00 PM will be lunch.
  • Post-Secondary Day for the grade twelves will be from 1:00-2:00 PM. The grade tens and elevens will be in flex sessions during that time.
  • The grade tens and twelves will have flex sessions from 2:00-3:00 PM. The grade elevens will have their Post-Secondary Day session at this time.
  • At 3:10 PM, all students will return to their block one classes for the Thanksgiving celebration.
  • NOTE: Students do not need to go to block one classes before attending the first flex session from 1:00-2:00 PM.

    Okay, that’s sounds pretty good. I have one last, final question. Do you like donuts?

    (Laughing) Do I like donuts. Y’know what, they’re okay. They’re not my favourite. I made a joke that one time about bringing me a donut, but yeah. Donuts are all right, but they’re not my favourite.

    What’s your favourite donut?

    Honey Cruller. I dunno why, but it just melts in my mouth. But Tim Hortons isn’t my favourite. I’m trying to eat healthier, so I’m staying away from donuts.

    The new bakery’s supposed to be good. Have you been there?

    Yeah, Bliss Bakery is really good. We’ve brought food back for the staff on a few occasions. We’re glad they’ve opened up for sure.

    Well, that’s all my questions! Thank you for talking to me for…twenty minutes. Holy crap.

    You’re very welcome.

    – END OF EVERYTHING –

    And that’s our interview with Mr. Fiacco! Check Macsource in the future for more updates on school, stuff in the community, and more staff and student features.

    One thought on “An Interview with…Mr. Fiacco (Part Two)

    Leave a Reply

    