A (Short) Interview with…the SU President

Michael Bautista, Staff Writer
Featuring Makda M.

MICHAEL BAUTISTA: What was your campaign platform last year?

MAKDA: That was a long time ago…well, I didn’t want to go the super serious route, because what I found from elections past was that people would try to be more professional and they wouldn’t be as relatable. So with my campaign posters and the speech we went kind of more for the comedic route. We played off the whole Obama campaign posters thing and we tried cracking jokes during the speech, too.

Platform-wise, I wanted to be seen not as someone who was above them, but as a student who was doing something for other students.

Now, what are your plans to make the school better?

Well, we have a lot of good events already in place but I think the biggest thing that I want to do in terms of changes would be to add new things. I know that I want to try and have more opportunities for students to dress up. When I was campaigning people were like, “We don’t really get to do events where we dress up” so I thought we’ll have more theme days. For this past dance people said the music wasn’t that great, so for the upcoming dance, we’re going to put up a request sheet for songs so that people can dance to what they want. I’m just trying to keep everything new and refreshed and talk to students to see what they want.

How have you improved and made contributions to SU since joining?

Oh my goodness, that’s a hard one. It’s a little hard to say within SU because we have different leaders within the club who take over different events. For example: every year, it’s the president’s job to oversee MAC’s Got Talent, but for Halloween some of the other MALs (Members At Large) were leading that. I guess it just depends on what is happening.

Hmm, contribution-wise…it’s a hard question to answer! (Laughing) I think I tried to really make sure that the team was cohesive this year. At the retreat, I made sure that I talked to everyone and that everyone was talking to each other. I really wanted to build that team spirit, so I’d consider that a good contribution. I’m pretty proud of that because we’re a really solid team this year.

From your experience, what are the challenges of being a president?

For myself, it’s time management because I skate after school 4-5 days a week, I coach after school with my skating club 3 days a week, and on top of that I have really difficult courses this semester, so juggling all of that is definitely a challenge; but I think it’s good because I’ve learned really quickly what it means to have time management skills.

Why did you run for president in the first place?

When I was in grade 10, I was an MAL. At the time, the president was Rafi, and I just saw the way that he interacted with the students. Honestly, it was so inspiring. I think he was the voice and the face of MAC.

I took a break from SU in grade 11, but when elections rolled around I was kind of missing being involved in my school community, so I decided that instead of running for a small position, I might as well run for the biggest position! It’s my last year so what do I have to lose?

Okay, last one. How important is leadership to you?

It’s really important to me because it’s the most active way that I can be involved in the school community. I’m not an athlete, I’m not in the drama plays, so while trying to find my niche I found the best way to do that was to be in Student’s Union.

I think when you have people who are passionate about what they do and are willing to serve the school it makes the community better. I think the atmosphere is so positive and alive, and that’s important because everyone is different but they all want to have the same great high school experience.

Leave a Reply

