Student Plans After High School, Vol. 1

Janice Jacobs, Staff Writer
Edited by Victoria Chiu

Whether you are taking a year off, going into sciences, or going down the arts route, university is a challenging and life-changing time for everyone. Lots of people have trouble deciding, as well as agreeing with their parents about what they want to do. I caught up with a few different grade 12 students about their university plans.

☆彡

Adam M.

What are your plans after high school?

U of A—first year arts, next, three years business; law after that for four years.

And what do you plan to do after university?

Start in a firm, and then go into business. Or start out with a business, and use law background, and depending on how much I like law, I might become an actual lawyer.

Why did you go into business/law?

They’re both good areas to go into, complement each other, like arguing and using logic.

What do your parents think?

Mom was hell-bent on engineering but I convinced her that I didn’t want to. Dad was okay with my choice; he’s in business as well, so he’s kind of a mentor for me.

★彡

Ciaran C.

What are your plans after school?

I want to go to the U of A, majoring in business, an entrepreneur if you want to be fancy. That sounds professional.

What are your plans after university?

I want people to work for me, maybe start a business.

Why do you want to go into business?

Because I’m interested in it. Bossing people around is fun, and I want to make lots of money.

What do your parents think?

I don’t know.

☆彡

Maria M.

What are your plans after high school?

I applied for Nursing at Macewan, and Sciences/Arts at the U of A. If I was accepted to both, I would choose sciences, maybe. I actually have no plan, I just applied for the sake of applying.

What do you want to do after university?

I don’t know yet.

What do your parents think of your choice?

I’m the youngest child, so my dad doesn’t care. My mom just says study hard, have fun. They’re not very helpful parents…

★彡

Kirsten D.

What are your plans after high school?

I’m hoping to get into the Design Studies program at MacEwan where I can venture in photography.

What are your plans after university?

I’d love to get a job working as a professional photographer for weddings and family portraits.

Why did you want to go into photography?

I love capturing moments and savoring them in a photograph. It’s kind of like my personal outlet to express my creativity.

What do your parents think?

My parents want me to enjoy my future and they support whichever career I choose.

Leave a Reply

