Student Plans After High School, Vol. 2

Janice Jacobs, Staff Writer
Edited by Victoria Chiu

Hey, MAC! Whether you don’t know what the future holds or have it all figured out, the time after high school graduation is a dark abyss that nobody wants to enter and from which nobody returns. I caught up with some grade 12 students to see what they have planned, and I got some pretty awesome answers…

★彡

Ashley B.

What do you want to do after high school?

I applied to the U of A in the Faculty of Arts or Sciences, and hopefully I’ll play tennis for the Pandas.

What do you plan to do after high school?

I know I want to do something in the health field, I just don’t know what.

Why did you choose health fields?

I want to help people. Sure. Let’s go with that…it seems like a rewarding career.

What do your parents think of your choice?

They’re supportive. They want to me to do something I’ll enjoy and have fun doing.

☆彡

Josiah O.

What are your plans after high school?

I’m going into political sciences at Grant MacEwan or the Royal Military College of Canada.

What do you want to do after university?

I want to go into the military as an infantry officer, hopefully in a combat position, and to travel.

Why did you choose to study political sciences and be in the military?

Hopefully I can have an influential position in the military and help influence foreign policy.

What do your parents think of your choice?

They have no problem with the influential position, but it’s the starting point they don’t like. The more education you have, the higher ranking position you can get.

★彡

Annie U.

What are your plans after high school?

I’m going to Adelphi University just outside New York on a soccer scholarship. Academically, I’m studying Exercise Sciences with the Faculty of Science. It took a lot of hard work and practice, but I’m really excited!

What would you like to do after university?

I would like to play soccer in the European Leagues, but if that doesn’t work out I’ll get my Masters in Exercise Sciences.

How did you get into playing soccer competitively? What did you do to get the scholarship?

I’ve been playing soccer since I was three, but I only started playing competitively about a year and a half ago. I just got really competitive, and I liked to win. To get the scholarship, I just did my research on the best universities both athletically and academically, made phone calls, sent in game films, and talked to coaches.

What do your parents think about your decision? Do they have any advice for you, going abroad?

They were cautious about me going abroad because it’s far away and I’ve never really been to America on my own, only with family. They’re happy that I’m playing soccer and doing what I love. As for advice, they said, “Don’t find an American boy!”

☆彡

Mary L.

What do you want to do after high school?

I want to study criminology at the University of Victoria. I applied to UBC and the U of A, as well. I’m pretty hopeful about getting in.

What do you plan to pursue after university?

I want to become a forensic psychologist. Like the guys on Criminal Minds, but without the field work.

Why did you choose criminology and forensic psychology?

No idea…I like psychology, but I don’t want to deal with depression. I wanted to go into psychiatry, but I don’t want to prescribe drugs to the mentally ill. I don’t think it’s right, so psychology is helping people indirectly and society as a whole.

What do your parents think of your choice?

They don’t like it. It’s not the happiest career because it takes a toll on you, dealing with criminal cases every day. They don’t like me going out of the province either. They want me to stay in Alberta for a year and then maybe move.

★彡

Gaby C.

What are your plans after high school?

Astrophysics, if my grades can get me there. I’d rather go out of the province, maybe to the University of Toronto or UBC, since U of A is actually my last choice.

What do you plan to do after university?

I would love to travel and do research around the world, and have to opportunity to go to observatories like the ones in Hawaii and Cuba. Travelling is a big part of what I’m doing, so I can’t have a 9-5 job. I love trying new things, so I want to move around and have a new routine all the time.

Why did you choose astrophysics?

I feel like we’re in this massive playground and the earth is just a tiny speck in the universe. Rather than sticking to what we know, I’d like to explore what the universe has to offer and find our place in this mess.

What do your parents think of your choice? Do they have any advice for you?

My parents were always supportive of what I want to do. Right before this, I wanted to go into fashion design, so it was quite a shock for them for me to go from one to the other. My parents have always said, “If you love it then go for it, but always work hard for your dreams.”

Leave a Reply

