TMM Interview #3

Rajah Maggay, Staff Writer

Rajah Maggay: What is your name, what grade are you in and how old are you?

Alan Han: My name is Alan Han. I am 14 years old and I am in grade 10.

RM: Why did you want to be a part of the musical?

AH: I wanted to be part of the musical because I enjoy drama, and I had participated in my junior high musical last year. It was a lot of fun, so I thought I would do it again.

RM: What is your role?

AH: I play the role of Ching Ho, who is a Chinese person working for Mrs. Meers to get enough money to bring over his mother from Hong Kong. I also am one of the speed tappists in the Speed Test, meaning I do tap choreography during the song.

RM: How did you react when you got your role?

AH: I didn’t really have a reaction since I didn’t care what role I got; I just wanted to be in the musical.

RM: What are you favourite musical numbers or scenes to rehearse?

AH: My favourite musical number is “The Speed Test” since I have to tap dance, which is totally new and different for me.

RM: What has been your favourite cast moment so far?

AH: Just getting to meet the entire cast and trying to know them better has been awesome.

RM: What kind of person is going to enjoy this show?

AH: Everyone will enjoy it because it is going to be AMAZING!

RM: What are some challenges that you’ve faced so far with the musical?

AH: Speaking in Cantonese and Mandarin. In Mandarin there are four different accents you put on words to make them different, and in Cantonese I think there are six, and I find it hard to get the right one all the time.

RM: What is your favourite line in the entire production?

AH: “It’s ssssssssssssssssssssssssssss…soy sauce.”

RM: Who is the most like their character and who is the least like their character?

AH:  Will is probably the most like his character and maybe Navneet is the least like his character.

RM: What are rehearsals like for you?

AH: We usually rehearse for only two hours at a time since Will has to leave. It’s not bad going through all the scenes; it shows me what lines I need to memorize. I will usually stay for the rest of the rehearsal though.

RM: If you have a five minute break during rehearsal what will you most likely be doing?

AH: I’ll usually be going though the dance step again or re-reading my lines.

RM: Who is the funniest person in the cast?

AH: I’d say that Miss Dorothy is the funniest character, but Jocelyn is the funniest cast member.

Leave a Reply

