Best Apps for Studying

Chelsea Parker, Staff Writer

Studying. Doesn’t the sound of it make you want to scroll away from this article and further procrastinate the homework you were assigned? Well guess what? Procrastinate no longer, because here I present to you the five best apps to use for studying, because we all know we’re pretty glued to our phones.

  1. Quizlet

I’m sure you’ve heard of this one, but Quizlet is perhaps one of the best apps I have ever encountered. I am a personally a read-write learner, meaning flash cards help me retain information to a superior degree. With Quizlet you have the option of making your own study sets, and you can add pictures, change the language, ect., or, you can search up whatever topic you are needing to study and you better believe someone out there has already made a study set for it. I just see it as a win-win situation. You can study anywhere: in line for coffee, during the previews of a movie, at that party your parents forced you to attend. Anywhere.

  1. Duolingo

Now I’m almost one hundred percent sure you’ve heard of this one. The completely money free and advertisement free language learning app that has taken the world by storm. I honestly don’t see why someone wouldn’t take advantage of the opportunity that is Duolingo and learn a new language. It is ridiculously easy; you choose the languages you want to learn, set yourself a daily goal, let’s say something like study for ten minutes, and then you learn. It comes with cute graphics and points you can redeem in a little store. The languages you can learn are: Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Dutch, Irish, Danish, Swedish, Turkish, Esperanto, Norwegian, Ukrainian, Russian, Polish, Welsh, Hebrew, Vietnamese, and Hungarian, and that’s just on the app! Online you can also take Greek and Romanian. Swahili, Czech, Hindi, Korean, Indonesian and Klingon are all coming soon.

  1. Pomodoro Technique

The Pomodoro Technique is a time management technique developed by Francesco Cirillo in the late 1980s.[1] The technique typically uses a timer to break down work periods in 25 minute intervals, separated by short breaks. The app I use, Focus Keeper, you get three 5 minutes breaks and then one 25 minutes break, and the cycle repeats 4 times. I, a slacker who finds sitting at table doing homework for hours boring and mightily unappealing, absolutely love the Pomodoro technique to keep me studying and focusing.

  1. OneNote & OneDrive

All right, now, for someone like myself who does all their work on multiple devices—in my case I alternate between my laptop, my iPad and my cellphone—apps that automatically transfer all of your information between your devices are an absolute lifesaver. I love OneNote because you can give each school subject its own binder, and inside the binder folders for individual topics. Each one of my binders has a calendar for each month I am taking the class, a syllabus, and a evaluation tracker, along with whatever folders I need for notes. It’s such a good way to keep organized during school.

  1. Forest

This app is absolutely adorable, and it gives me that same feeling you get when you go to the SPCA and know you can’t take any home but you want to so bad. Forest is an app created so that whenever you want to focus on your work, you get to *virtually* plant a tree. Stay focused on your task, and don’t exit the app, and your tree will begin to grow while you work. But… if you leave Forest to check Instagram or Snapchat or anything, your tree dies. You become a tree murderer. The harder you work and the longer you stay on task and off your phone, the larger and lusher your forest becomes. You very quickly develop a “no smartphone” working habit, and you sort of feel bad killing virtual trees.

Anyways, after you’ve downloaded all/some/none of these apps, please go study, You can do it!

 

Leave a Reply

