KMK Interview Questions- Eunice Gatama

Megan Macasaet, Staff Writer

eunice-picture

Megan Macasaet: Hello Eunice, thanks for taking the time to do this! Let’s start with…what is your name, grade, and role? Could you also give a brief description your role without giving too much away?

Eunice Gatama: Hi my name is Eunice Gatama. I am in grade 12 and I play the role of Lois Lane/Bianca in the musical Kiss Me Kate. Okay, so Lois Lane in my opinion is an opportunist- she knows that to make it in a “Man’s World” is through their pockets, if you know what I mean. Yeah, she is a bit brazen. However I like her spunk and hunger to be something more.

MM: Ha! Lois has quite the personality, that’s for sure. So how did you react to getting your role?

EG: It’s a funny and short story. I was on the train on the way to church and I was jamming to some gospel music while refreshing the Google classroom page. Literally my fingers would tap refresh, refresh and at the millionth time of doing so, the cast list was up! I was ecstatic to find out I got the role, still am.

MM: What do like about you role and what do you hope to bring to it?

EG: I hope to be authentic and comfortable on stage. To me, I don’t just want to play the role, but actually be her. The stage is her world, so I want to make it as real as possible. I know I can!

MM: This is your second time being in MAC’s year play, but I hear that you’ve been doing theatre much longer than that.

EG: Yes, I have been involved in theatre since age twelve. Though it feels like most of my life.

MM: What do you enjoy about theatre?

EG: Everything! Let me explain, everyone has that one thing they’re great at; it’s something that fills you with bright confidence. I gained that through being part of the theatre program. My will to reach for greatest, to some extent, is credited to being in theatre. People find me naturally confident and extroverted, when in fact, I consider myself very shy when it comes to performing in front of a crowd. Drama made me believe I could do it.

MM: That’s all very touching. I’m sure many of us in this year’s production can relate. Speaking of the show… Describe the musical in five words or less.

EG: Comical, Jazzy, modern, brazen, unforgettable!

MM: Good ones! What kind of audience would enjoy this show?

EG: The type of people who will crack up at the jokes and want to have a wonderful time. Duh!

MM: Lastly, why do you think people should come watch the musical?

EG: It’s one night, one ticket, for an amazing performance done by more than one individual. So come support us!

MM: I couldn’t agree more!

 

Leave a Reply

