​KMK Interview- Emmanuel Sackeyfio

Megan Macasaet, Staff Writer
Megan Macasaet: What is your name, grade, and role? Could you give a brief description of the role without giving too much away?

Emmanuel Sackeyfio: Hello, my name is Emmanuel Sackeyfio, and I’m in grade ten. I play Gremio…who is known as Gremio on and off the stage. 

MM: Ha! There really is no mention of the character’s real name off the stage! How did you react to getting your role?

ES: I originally auditioned for Bill, the lead male role, but I ended up getting Gremio instead. At first, I was a bit upset. In the end it didn’t matter ibecause it’s an honour just to be casted into this show. Besides, there’s always next year for me. 

MM: What do you like about your role and what do you hope to bring to the stage?

ES: On stage, I just hope I don’t mess up. As for the role, it’s very different from the characters I have played previously. So it’s like a new adventure and challenge for me. 

MM: So you have theater experience? How long have you been doing drama? 

ES: I’ve been in a variety of productions, from church plays to school plays. I started when I was seven… so I have been doing theater for quite a while.

MM: Why did you want to join this year’s musical?

ES: Since I’ve been acting for a while, it has become a big part of my life. So I thought to myself: Why stop now?

MM: I agree! What do you enjoy about theater?

ES: It’s fun! There is nothing I would rather do than theater. Here, you can make friends easily, as it’s just a welcoming environment. 

MM: What are some of the challenges/scary moments you’ve faced so far in this show?

ES: Learning the dance number “Too Darn Hot“ was extremely difficult. There`s just so much going on and some of the choreography is challenging. 

MM: Can you describe the show in five words or less?

ES: An interesting experience for all. 

MM: What’s your favourite line of the production?

ES: Fred (Navneet’s) line: “I’m a realistic actor!”, is such a powerful line in the musical in my opinion. 

MM: What is your favourite scene/number to rehearse or watch?

ES: To rehearse: “Another Op’nin’, Another Show”. To watch: “Too Darn Hot.”

MM: What is the one thing you want everyone outside the cast to know about our cast/ production in general?

ES: We’re very strange and rambunctious. But we’re not the extreme, stereotypical “Theater Kids”. We just kind of share the same interests, so we can relate to one another that way. 

MM: What kind of audience would enjoy this show?

ES: All audiences! Young adults. Small children. Those people who hate birds. People who dislike anything Shakespearian. Actors. Non-actors.  

MM: Yes! Last question: Why do you think people should come watch the musical?

ES: We’ve put a lot of work into the entire production. Hours and hours of work. The least you could do is come and see it! It’ll be a fun time for all!

Leave a Reply

